Good morning!

I’ve never known another name for naked ladies, but I imagine I might have some extra traffic for this post due to the name. I, however, am writing about the flower! Are they a weed? Or do people intentionally plant naked ladies? They seem to spring out of the ground in a single evening (at least I never notice them until they are tall blooming stalks!)

My husband says that any plant that grows where it is not wanted is a weed. So if you like your naked ladies where they are, then they are not weeds. If you hate your rose-bush, then it is a weed. At least, that is his rule of thumb.

I imagine enough people are fans of Naked Ladies that they aren’t often considered weeds. This poor Echinacea though, could sure use some love. Echinacea root has wonderful herbal medicinal purposes, you think it would be given some more attention!

But then I have no memory of an Echinacea plant that didn’t look a little distraught. Maybe that’s their thing?

Anyway, off to sling cupcakes! With an afternoon of research and writing ahead. I sure hope to get back to those HST soon.

P.S. – I have found my inspiration for my first original quilt block design! So excited to share it with you!

xo,

Erin Myone